Thursday, September 21, 2017

Book Tour & #Giveaway ~ Body on Baker Street: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery, Book 2 by Vicki Delany


Body on Baker Street: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery
by Vicki Delany

I had no idea who the villain was until he/she was revealed. As Gemma explained her logic behind her deduction, I could see the way the clues lined up, but the villain definitely wasn’t on my radar before that.

What’s not to love about this series – a Sherlock Holmes themed bookstore, a tea shop, and murder!

Body On Baker Street provides an entertaining read.

In addition to a solid mystery, Delany provides delightful references to Sherlock Holmes throughout—from the store’s street address and merchandise; to a cat named Moriarty and a dog named Violet; to the mention of other books with Sherlock themes.

Subtle wit, great characters, and nods galore to everyone’s favorite Baker Street detective – these are the qualities that make Body on Baker Street a must read.

I could not put this book down. One of her best yet in my opinion.

This has been a great read, everyone had motives and with some funny characters this book will make you remember the great Arthur Conan Doyle books!

I love this series! I love Gemma and her quirky little bookshop selling Sherlock Holmes books, merchandise, anything connected with Arthur Conan Doyle, along with lots of other mystery books set in Sherlock’s era.

The ending is dramatic and tense and even if you’ve figured some of it out, will still surprise you.

After only two books, I am totally in love with this series. I love Gemma, Jayne, Uncle Arthur, Ryan, Grant, and so many other folks around town–and let’s not forget Moriarity, the bookshop cat!


Book Information:

A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery, Book 2
Cozy Mystery
Crooked Lane Books 
September 12, 2017
Hardcover: 304 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1683312994
E-Book ASIN: B06XW3K7F5

About the Book:

Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table―dead.

Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

Saph's Note:

I had this tour written down in my planner incorrectly; therefore, I won't be posting my review until Saturday or Sunday instead of today.  I apologize for my error.

Meet the Author:


Vicki Delany is one of Canada’s most prolific and varied crime writers and a national bestseller in the U.S. She has written more than twenty-five books: clever cozies to Gothic thrillers to gritty police procedurals, to historical fiction and novellas for adult literacy. Under the name of Eva Gates, she writes the Lighthouse Library cozy series for Penguin Random House. Her latest book is Body on Baker Street, the second in the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop series from Crooked Lane.

Vicki is the past president of the Crime Writers of Canada. Her work has been nominated for the Derringer, the Bony Blithe, the Ontario Library Association Golden Oak, and the Arthur Ellis Awards.


Purchase Links


Enter the Giveaway:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Bewitching Book Tours Haunted Halloween Spooktacular Feature~ All Hallow’s Eve by Barbra E Ross #Giveaway @barbraeross

A Mortal Indiscretion             
The Justin and Ambra Series
Book One
Barbra E. Ross    

Genre: Paranormal Romance,
Romantic Suspense, Vampire Romance

Date of Publication: 4/27/16  

ISBN: 978-1530762804
ASIN: B01DFJ3TG4

Number of pages: 632 pages
Word Count: 259981

Cover Artist: ProEbook Covers

Tagline: A sexy vampire. A little deceit. A love worth dying for. What more could you want from a vampire romance?

About the Description: 

A man. A vampire. A love story....

One night changed everything for bachelor Justin Bertolli. A womanizer at heart, never quite ready to settle down, he meets the woman who would change his life forever. Ambra Taylor is that woman, but is she all that Justin bargained for? Told from a male protagonist point of view, A Mortal Indiscretion delivers wholly unique narratives that don’t succumb to the same old recycled concepts. 

Everything unravels in Justin’s world. Although Ambra is a vampire, she is the vulnerable one of the two characters, providing a refreshing twist on standard tales. She is not waiting for her prince to come save her on his white horse. She simply desires love, to feel human love again and will do anything to protect the love of Justin. 


When Justin discovers the truth about who and what she is, will he still love her? Will he still want her? Find out, as their hearts collide in this epic tale of love.


Watch the Book Trailer: https://youtu.be/spyRnzDG8dI

Purchase Your Copy:

Amazon     Createspace



All Hallow’s Eve 
Barbra E Ross

It only comes but once a year.
Filling your mind with fright and fear.
Some candy corn and popcorn balls.
While the eeriness, creeps through the wall.

A witch’s laugh, a ghostly moan.
Mummy’s hand and skeleton bone.
Vampire fangs, wolves howl.
Thunder cloud, wailing owl.

Midnight brings on the feast.
A zombie’s wander, never cease.
Cemeteries full of helpless souls.
While neighbors fill the candy bowls.

Dead leaves float through the air.
While devils dance, and stranger’s stare.
Pumpkin’s glow, red and gold.
My skin crawls in a deathly hold.

Sunrise brings it all to end.
Light and dark, begin to blend.
Demons whither, back to ground.
Evil’s desire gagged and bound.

Back to normal, all is well.
Nightly beasts sent back to hell.
Halloween, tricks and treats.
Make the heart, skip a beat.

About the Author:

Barbra E Ross lives in Michigan. She is a nurse by day and a writer of fiction at night.




a Rafflecopter giveaway



Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Book Review ~ The Black Cat Sees His Shadow (A Bad Luck Cat Mystery, Book #3) by Kay Finch #CozyMystery


Book Details:

The Black Cat Sees His Shadow
A Bad Luck Cat Mystery, Book 3
Kay Finch

Kindle File Size: 1777 KB
Print Length: 303 pages
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 6, 2017
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
ASIN: B01MAUPJOD

Add to your shelf on Goodreads:


About the Book:

Mystery novelist Sabrina Tate and her cat, Hitchcock, set out to catch a conniving killer in the next Bad Luck Cat mystery from the author of The Black Cat Knocks on Wood and Black Cat Crossing... 

The town of Lavender, Texas is buzzing with tourists, and local businesses are pulling out all the stops for the annual Pumpkin Days Festival. On the eve of opening day, Sabrina comes face-to-face with her doppelganger, Tia Hartwell, a caricature artist at the festival. The similarities between the two women are striking, including their matching black cats.

Sabrina learns that her new twin Tia has an enemy: bad-tempered jewelry vendor Calvin Fisher. When Fisher is found slumped over dead in his pickup, Tia tops the suspect list. With the help of her feline sidekick, Sabrina must clear her new look-alike friend before she finds herself in a deadly case of double jeopardy.


It's Pumpkin Days Festival time in Lavender, Texas.  Local businesses are setting up tents to display their wares and tourists are piling in to partake in the town's festivities. As Sabrina strolls through the festival with her cat, Hitchcock, she walks right up to someone who looks just like her. A woman named Tia is one of the outside vendors renting a tent during the festival.  She also has her son and his pet cat with her. When it's discovered that Tia doesn't see eye-to-eye with another vendor named Calvin and he is found dead, Tia is the prime suspect. Sabrina makes it her mission to discover what happened and to prove that Tia wasn't involved.

The Black Cat Sees His Shadow is a wonderful third cozy mystery in Kay Finch's Bad Luck Cat Mystery series. The plot is full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the very end. The entire book will engage the reader from beginning to end. The descriptive content makes visualizing the scenes an easy task. The novel is fast paced and enjoyable. The motive for the murder of Calvin, as well as who did it, was cleverly disguised.

All of the characters are written with realism. The character development continues with the main characters and the addition of new characters. We aren't bogged down with unnecessary details or boring character biographies. We receive the right amount of detail and description for each character. The conversations flow smoothly and are realistic. They flow so well that you think you're standing nearby involved in the topic of discussion. 

I voluntarily reviewed a copy of The Black Cat Sees His Shadow provided to me by the publisher through NetGalley.

My Rating: